THE ESTATE

Château les Beaulne is actually a former monastery located on the mountainside and overlooking Lac Vert, in the Petite-Nation, in the heart of the wild beauty of the Outaouais. Stretching over 165 acres of forests and lakes, the Château les Beaulne estate is home to nine cottages, built in prime locations. Indeed, they will give you both access to our multitude of services, but are sufficiently well hidden to guarantee you peace and tranquility. You can also indulge in many activities in the heart of nature, such as hikes and walks on the lake, or simply relax in the comfort of our establishments, far from all the irritants of everyday life.

 

Kilometers of hiking trails will allow you to discover the full extent of our spectacular domain, breathing in the great forest air, while the gentle lake breeze will come to envelop you in its bewitching caress, while you discreetly break the surface of the water from your paddle.

274082215_712401826869687_2220249046591435617_n_edited.jpg


To escape 
and make discoveries


 

chateau neige_edited_edited.jpg

THE HISTORY OF THE ESTATE

"Château les Beaulne" changed vocation a few times before becoming what it is today. In the middle of the century, this opulent residence served as a residence for the White Fathers, missionaries in Africa.

It was the latter who built "the castle" in 1955. They had first begun in the 1920s with the acquisition of 50 acres of land and a hunting lodge on the edge of the bay. Later, in the 1930s, they built other cottages on the estate, as well as a dormitory, a cafeteria, and a chapel. This made it possible to receive the seminarians. A few years later, they purchased 62 acres of land to erect the main building. This one, a manor house, with 15 rooms, welcomed the elderly missionaries, returning from Africa. At the height of its occupation, there were 12 fathers in residence there.

The vocation of missionary being in decline towards the end of the sixties, the fathers then decided to open a holiday camp for young people. This colony administered by the fathers and occupied all the buildings except the castle. During the seventies, the administration of the colony was entrusted to lay people. In 1978, unreliable management on their part forced the landlords, administrators of the summer camp to hand everything over to the fathers. Shortly after, they put the estate up for sale.

After a few visits, André Beaulne and Nicole Lanthier, the current owners, acquired the estate on March 20, 1980. They named it "Domaine des Pères du Lac Vert" and turned it into an inn with 15 rooms.

In the early 1990s, the recession affected the area's traffic. The clientele became rarer, and the owners had to make a decision, close or renovate, while giving another orientation. The renovation was decided, which began in autumn 1992; certain rooms were transformed into treatment rooms, then a bathroom was added to each of the rooms. A glass roof was built for the dining room, the living room, and the spa. On January 15, the health center was born. It bore the name of: "Château les Beaulne"

The health center and hostel division was open until 2002 due to new government requirements. The owners and the family therefore, made the decision to close the inn and keep it for personal use. However, the cottage division was kept and even increased with the recent additions of the Chapel and the Chalet chez ma tante.

Chateau été_edited_edited.png

THE ATMOSPHERE AT THE ESTATE

When you are at the estate, you find yourself in connection with true nature. You wake up to the song of birds, you find yourself in the heart of a haven of peace. We reconnect with nature, we regenerate our energies, we explore on the different islands and trails, we rest.  

 

Our clientele comes back year after year and often stays for more than two weeks. There are couples, young families or grandparents and over the years friendships are created. The family values shared all around the estate will allow you to rest while remaining active.

The estate is a bubble of happiness!

LE DOMAINE

Le Château les Beaulne est en réalité un ancien monastère situé à flanc de montagne et surplombant le Lac Vert, dans la Petite-Nation, au cœur de la beauté sauvage de l’Outaouais. S’étendant sur 165 acres de forêts et de plans d’eau, le domaine du Château les Beaulne est l’hôte de neuf chalets, bâtis dans des endroits de choix. En effet, ils vous donneront à la fois accès à notre multitude de services, mais sont suffisamment bien dissimulés pour vous garantir paix et tranquillité. Vous pourrez de plus vous adonner à maintes activités en pleine nature, comme les randonnées en forêt et les promenades sur le lac, ou tout simplement relaxer dans le confort de nos établissements, loin de tous les irritants de la vie de tous les jours.

Des kilomètres de sentiers pédestres vous permettront de découvrir toute l’étendue de notre spectaculaire domaine, en respirant le grand air forestier, alors que la douce brise du lac viendra vous envelopper de son envoûtante caresse, tandis que vous brisez discrètement la surface de l’eau avec votre pagaie.

274082215_712401826869687_2220249046591435617_n_edited.jpg


Pour s'évader 
et faire des découvertes


 

chateau neige_edited_edited.jpg

L'HISTOIRE DU DOMAINE

"Château les Beaulne" a changé de vocation à quelques reprises avant de devenir ce qu'il est aujourd'hui. Au milieu du siècle, cette demeure cossue, servait de demeure aux Pères Blancs, missionnaires en Afrique.

Ce sont ces derniers qui ont bâti "le château" en 1955. Ils avaient, tout d'abord, commencé dans les années vingt avec l'acquisition de 50 acres de terrain et d'un chalet de chasse sur le bord de la baie. Plus tard, dans les années trente, ils bâtirent sur le domaine d'autres chalets ainsi qu'un dortoir, une cafétéria et une chapelle. Cela permettait de recevoir les séminaristes. Quelque années plus tard, ils achetèrent 62 acres de terrain pour y ériger le principal corps de bâtiment. Celui-ci une gentilhommière, de 15 chambres, accueillait les missionnaires âgées, de retour d'Afrique. Au plus fort de son occupation, on y dénombrait 12 pères en résidence.

La vocation de missionnaire étant en chute vers la fin des années soixante, les pères décidèrent alors d'ouvrir une colonie de vacances pour les jeunes. Cette colonie administrée par les pères occupait tous les bâtiments sauf le château. Pendant les années soixante-dix, l'administration de la colonie fut confié à des laïcs. En 1978, une gestion peu fiable de leur part obligea les locateurs administrateurs de la colonie de vacances à remettre le tout aux pères. Peu de temps après ceux-ci mirent le domaine en vente.

Après quelques visites, André Beaulne et Nicole Lanthier, les propriétaire actuels, se porteront acquéreurs du domaine, le 20 mars 1980. Ils le baptiseront "Domaine des Pères du Lac Vert" et en feront une auberge qui comptera 15 chambres.

Au début des années quatre-vingt-dix, la récession affecta l'achalandage du domaine. La clientèle se fit plus rare, et les propriétaires durent prendre une décision, fermer ou rénover, tout en donnant une autre orientation. La rénovation fut décidée, qui commença en automne 1992; on transforma certaines chambres en salles de soins, puis on adjoignit une salle de bain à chacune des chambres. On construisit une verrière pour la salle à manger, la salle de séjour et le spa. Le 15 janvier le centre de santé était né. Il portait le nom de : "Château les Beaulne"

La division du centre de santé et de l'auberge fût ouvert jusqu'en 2002 en raison des nouvelles exigences gouvernementales. Les propriétaires et la famille ont donc pris la décision de fermer l'auberge et de la garder pour des usages personnels. Cependant, la division chalet fût conservé et même augmenter avec les ajouts récents de la Chapelle et du Chalet chez ma tante.

Chateau été_edited_edited.png

L'AMBIANCE AU DOMAINE

Lorsqu'on est au domaine, on se retrouve en connexion avec la vraie nature, on se réveille au chant des oiseaux, on se retrouve au cœur d'un havre de paix. On reconnecte avec la nature, on régénère nos énergies, on explore sur les différentes îles et sentiers, on se repose. 

 

Notre clientèle revient d'année en année et demeure souvent plus de deux semaines. Il y a des couples, de jeunes familles ou des grands-parents et au fil des années des amitiés sont créées. Les valeurs familiales partagées tout autour du domaine vous permettront de vous reposer tout en restant actifs.

Le domaine, c'est une bulle de bonheur!